Day 1: traveling day - Reisverslag uit Philadelphia, Verenigde Staten van Julia Mars - WaarBenJij.nu Day 1: traveling day - Reisverslag uit Philadelphia, Verenigde Staten van Julia Mars - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 1: traveling day

Door: Julia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Julia

25 April 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Philadelphia

April 25 2014, Philadelphia
Philadelphia: my first stop in America. I just landed at 13:25 after a flight of about 7 hours. It was a long flight, but definitively not a boring flight. I met a Dutch family who was sitting next to me in the plane and we ended up talking or the entire flight. It was a family of five; mom and dad along with their three children. I couldn’t be more glad they were there. It was because of them I didn’t feel alone. Especially the children kept me busy; we played games and chit-chattered all 7 hours long. I really needed that, since the saying goodbye part and leaving my own family behind was quite hard. All of my lovely family came along to say goodbye on Schiphol. It was quite emotional, I couldn’t help crying. When the plane left, I saw them standing on the roof of the airport waving at me and again I could feel my eyes fill up with tears again. I’ve never traveled alone before, let alone traveling alone this far. I was really nervous I would miss the flight or something else would go wrong (and I still am, I’m not there yet at this moment). As I said before, the Dutch family I met was a big relief. I couldn’t be more thankful for them!

Currently I’m waiting for my second flight, the one to Charlotte. It’s almost time for take-off after I waited for a few hours on the airport. It’s weird to be alone and having to arrange everything myself. Earlier today I found myself walking through the corridors and thinking: wow, I’m all on my own on the other side of the world! Crazy, really. After this I have to change flights one more time, and then I’ll arrive in Florence. Manon, Daan and the kids will be there to pick me up. I can’t wait to meet them!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Julia

Hi, I'm Julia. I do things. Sometimes.

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 166
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7790

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Juli 2014 - 29 Juli 2014

Ierland

25 April 2014 - 12 Mei 2014

Internship 2014: Florence, SC, US

Landen bezocht: