Day 2: Meet the family - Reisverslag uit Florence, Verenigde Staten van Julia Mars - WaarBenJij.nu Day 2: Meet the family - Reisverslag uit Florence, Verenigde Staten van Julia Mars - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 2: Meet the family

Door: Julia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Julia

26 April 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Florence

April 26 2014, Florence

Today was the first day with my host family. Yesterday evening they picked me up at the Florence airport and that was also the first time I met them in person. The flights were really long, but also really fun. I met a ton of cool people while on the plane. When I walked into my plane yesterday morning I thought to myself: well Julia, this is going to be a long day, especially because you’re not going to have anyone to talk to for the next 13 hours. But things took a way different turn. There was not one flight on which I had no one to talk to. As I said before, in the plane to Philly I had the Dutch family. On the plane to Charlotte I met Leslie, who almost immediately started talking to me when we got our seats. She is a really nice person and it really felt like we had known each other for quite some time when we were talking. She even said that as soon as I turned 21 I should come visit her so she could show me New Orleans, which is, according to her, one of the mayor highlights of the US. Leslie, if you’re reading this, we’ll keep in touch!

Sitting next to Leslie was Andrew, who had just visited London and Paris with his family. His son surprised me big time: he was wearing a soccer outfit of the Netherlands! What a coincidence.

On my last flight I met Patricia and her daughter Rahkeema. Rahkeema had just started her new diary of poems. I asked if I could read what she had written so far, and I discovered the classic ‘roses are red, violets are blue’ poem. I translated the poem to Dutch for her and had her and her mother read it out loud for me. It was really funny because they didn’t have any clue what was standing there!

Manon, Daan and the kids came to pick me up at the airport of Florence, as I said before. Even though I was exhausted when I came out of the plane and also during the car drive, I was completely awake once I saw their house. It’s huge! I’m staying in the guest room and it’s even more luxurious than my own room back home. Here I have a double bed and even my own bathroom. Manon, Daan and the kids are the most amazing host family you could imagine. They are really really friendly and they have planned so much exciting things! I can say for sure that this is one of the most fun trips I’ve ever been on, and it’s only the second day!

  • 27 April 2014 - 09:53

    Mary-Rose:

    Hey darling Clementine,
    How nice to read your adventures and how well you're doing all this !!!
    I'm very proud my dear daughter ! Good to know you met all these nice people while travelling and also so good to know your hosts are so nice.
    While reading all this the conviction grows that yoy will want to travel more and more....; mixed feelings about that! But, in the meantime; enjoy!!
    Love mommy

  • 27 April 2014 - 14:09

    Frank :

    Hi Julia,

    It's nice to read about your adventure, a bit more than a regular training course of school..... enjoy your stay there, all the best! Love dad

  • 27 April 2014 - 20:06

    Ellen:

    Hey Julia,

    Wat leuk om te lezen, ik wist helemaal niet dat je daar naartoe ging. Superspannend allemaal, maar wat een ervaringen doe je op meisje, echt gaaf. Geniet ervan, en ik lees hier graag alle belevenissen.
    Groetjes Ellen x

    Je volgende tripje wordt natuurlijk vrijwilligerswerk bij EW ;) gezellig bij Manouk.

  • 29 April 2014 - 00:19

    Leslie Sweet:

    Hi Julia! It was really great to meet you! And I'm serious about New Orleans! But since 21 is a few years away, you should definitely plan another trip to visit me in St. Louis before then. You would love it! And you can have your own bathroom here too. I can't wait to read about your trip, and we will keep in touch for sure! Have a blast!

    Leslie

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Julia

Hi, I'm Julia. I do things. Sometimes.

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 184
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7839

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Juli 2014 - 29 Juli 2014

Ierland

25 April 2014 - 12 Mei 2014

Internship 2014: Florence, SC, US

Landen bezocht: